MISSION STATEMENT: The Alabama Board of Examiners in Psychology seeks to promote and protect the public's health, welfare, and quality of life by licensing and regulating the practice of psychology and by promoting access to psychological services delivered in a safe, competent, and ethical manner.

The Alabama Board of Examiners in Psychology was created in 1963 by an Act of the State Legislature. The Board’s mission is to safeguard the health, safety, and welfare of Alabamians by requiring those who practice psychology as psychologists or psychological technicians within the State be qualified. The Board interprets laws, administrative codes, and ethical principles to determine the appropriate standards of practice in an effort to ensure that licensees maintain the highest degree of professional practice and conduct. The Board is authorized to issue licenses to applicants who have completed appropriate education and training, and who have exhibited competency in psychology as shown by passing examinations required and administered by the Board. The Board is responsible for the investigation of alleged statutory and ethical violations and for the discipline of licensees who are found guilty of such violations.

The Board’s administrative staff supports the agency by tending to the numerous and constant requirements of the law and rules. Annual license renewal notices are mailed from the Board office sixty (60) days prior to the expiration of the license to each licensees' current address of record. Licensees are responsible for renewing their license on time and keeping the Board apprised of current contact information. Failure to renew by the expiration date may result in a lapsed license and the assessment of a fine.

Board members are appointed by the Governor and serve five (5) year terms. The Board consists of practicing psychologists, a university psychology faculty member, a psychological technician member, and a member of the public. A quorum of four (4) members is required to conduct business. The Board meets at its offices in the RSA Union Building at 100 North Union Street, Suite 880 in Montgomery. Board meetings are open to the public.

Board Members and Executive Staff:

  • Eliza M. Belle, Ph.D. - Chair
  • Edwin W. Cook, III, Ph.D. - Vice-Chair
  • Nancy W. Berland, Ph.D.
  • Michael A. Carlton, Ph.D.
  • Carmen Douglas - Public Member
  • Candice D. Lewis, M.S. - Psychological Technician Member
  • Dale Wisely, Ph.D.
  • Unfilled Seat
  • Lori H. Rall - Executive Director & PSYPACT Commissioner for the State of Alabama
  • Angie Ledbetter - Executive Assistant
  • Brice M. Johnston - Legal Counsel